d
c

The Public Inquiry into the Safety and Security of Residents in the Long-Term Care Homes System

Inquiry Update

The Public Hearings – Beginning June 2018

  • The Public Hearings will be held in Courtroom 201 of the Elgin County Courthouse, located at 4 Wellington Street in St. Thomas, Ontario.
  • It is anticipated the Public Hearings will take place during the weeks of June 4, 11, 18, 25, July 16, 23, 30, August 6 and September 24, 2018.
  • You will be able to access the webcast, daily transcripts and evidence entered at the Public Hearings through the Inquiry website.
  • Please check the website regularly for more information.

The Inquiry is Established

The Long-Term Care Homes Public Inquiry was established on August 1, 2017, by Order in Council following Elizabeth Wettlaufer’s conviction of eight counts of first degree murder, four counts of attempted murder and two counts of aggravated assault; offences she committed while working as a registered nurse in Long-Term Care Homes.

The Honourable Justice Eileen Gillese was appointed Commissioner. On her appointment, Commissioner Gillese said: “I am honoured to have been chosen to head this very important Inquiry dealing with matters that affect the lives of all those in Long-Term Care Homes in Ontario. My team and I will do our utmost to determine how these events could occur and to make recommendations so that the tragedies of the past are not repeated in the future.”

The Inquiry will deliver its final Report in both official languages on July 31, 2019

The Inquiry’s Mandate

The Inquiry’s mandate is to inquire into the events which led to the offences committed by Elizabeth Wettlaufer. Additionally, the Inquiry is directed to inquire into the circumstances and contributing factors allowing these events to occur, including the effect, if any, of relevant policies, procedures, practices and accountability and oversight mechanisms. The Inquiry is also directed to inquire into other relevant matters that the Commissioner considers necessary to avoid similar tragedies.

The Inquiry’s Core Team

Eileen E. Gillese, Commissioner
Will McDowell, Co-Lead Commission Counsel
Mark Zigler, Co-Lead Commission Counsel
Liz Hewitt, Senior Commission Counsel
Rebecca Jones, Commission Counsel
Megan Stephens, Commission Counsel
Lara Kinkartz, Associate Counsel
Andrea Barton, Executive Director
Peter Rehak, Director of Communications

Enquête publique sur la sécurité des résidents des foyers de soins de longue durée

Mise à jour de l'enquête

Audiences publiques

  • Cliquez sur les liens pour avoir accès aux diffusions sur le Web, aux transcriptions et aux pièces et aux témoins anticipés.
  • Les audiences publiques auront lieu dans la salle d’audience 201 du palais de justice du comté d’Elgin, situé au 4, rue Wellington, à St. Thomas, Ontario.
  • Il est prévu que les audiences publiques se tiendront au cours des semaines du 4, 11, 18 et 25 juin, du 16, 23 et 30 juillet, du 6 août et du 24 septembre 2018.
  • La journée d’audience publique se déroulera de 9 h 30 à 13 h, et de 14 h à 16 h 30 approximativement, avec une brève pause le matin et l’après-midi.
  • Veuillez vérifier régulièrement le site Web pour de plus amples renseignements.

L’Enquête est établie

L’Enquête publique sur les foyers de soins de longue durée a été établie le 1er août 2017, par un décret, après la condamnation d’Elizabeth Wettlaufer pour huit chefs d’accusation de meurtre au premier degré, quatre chefs d’accusation de tentative de meurtre et deux chefs d’accusation de voies de fait graves; infractions qu’elle a commises lorsqu’elle travaillait comme infirmière autorisée dans des foyers de soins de longue durée.

L’honorable juge Eileen Gillese a été nommée commissaire. Après sa nomination, la commissaire Gillese a déclaré : « Je suis honorée d’avoir été choisie pour diriger cette enquête très importante sur des circonstances qui touchent la vie de tous ceux qui se trouvent dans des foyers de soins de longue durée en Ontario. Mon équipe et moi-même ferons tout notre possible pour déterminer comment ces événements ont pu survenir et faire des recommandations afin d’éviter des tragédies similaires. »

La Commission d’enquête remettra son rapport final dans les deux langues officielles, le 31 juillet 2019.

Le mandat de l’Enquête

La Commission d’enquête a pour mandat d’effectuer une enquête sur les événements qui ont conduit aux infractions commises par Elizabeth Wettlaufer, ainsi que sur les circonstances et les facteurs contributifs ayant permis que ces événements surviennent, notamment sur l’effet, le cas échéant, des politiques, procédures et des pratiques pertinentes et sur les mécanismes de responsabilisation et de surveillance. La Commission d’enquête doit également enquêter sur les autres éléments pertinents que la commissaire juge nécessaires afin d’éviter des tragédies similaires.

Équipe de base de l’Enquête

Eileen E. Gillese, commissaire
Will McDowell, co-avocat en chef de l’Enquête
Mark Zigler, co-avocat en chef de l’Enquête
Liz Hewitt, avocate principale de la Commission
Rebecca Jones, avocate de la Commission
Megan Stephens, avocate de la Commission
Lara Kinkartz, avocate associée
Andrea Barton, directrice générale
Peter Rehak, directeur des communications